What is DUI?
DUI stands for driving while intoxicated. It is used in relation to a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) or OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) criminal charge.
In all 50 states, drinking and driving is illegal. In general, a person can be convicted of a DUI if they have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. Different “legal limits” apply to specific categories of drivers.
Georgia has a wide range of penalties and fines for DUI offenses. For instance, first-time offenders could spend anywhere from 24 hours to a year in jail. There are fines imposed that range from $300 to $1,000. Additionally, your license could be suspended for up to a year. If you are a repeat DUI offender, the penalties get worse.
DUI Without Alcohol
Although the majority of DUI convictions are determined by the amount of alcohol a person has consumed, other drugs can also impair driving. The law in Georgia is sufficiently comprehensive to include these substances. Several instances include:
- Any illegal or controlled substance
- Certain prescription drugs, even when used properly
- Prescription drugs that don’t belong to the driver
- Prescription drugs that are being used incorrectly
- Any combination of drugs and alcohol
You may be charged with and found guilty of a DUI if a substance in any way impairs your ability to drive. This can also include taking your own properly prescribed prescription medications. If there is a warning label on the bottle stating you should not operate a motor vehicle after taking the drug, you could be charged with a DUI because you didn’t adhere to the warning.
Drivers can undoubtedly be stopped, accused of DUI, and found guilty without doing any harm. Drinking and driving impairs your ability to drive, skews judgment, deteriorates vision, and slows your reaction time. When this type of accident occurs, the driver may be held legally responsible for any harm or injuries they cause to others.
Every driver has a responsibility to drive safely. Any time a drunk driver gets behind the wheel of a vehicle, they have already breached this duty.
Contact a Personal Injury Attorney if You Were Hit by a Drunk Driver
If you were hit by a drunk driver, make sure you contact a personal injury attorney as soon as possible.
Drunk driving is a very serious offense, and if you are hurt because of someone else’s negligence, you deserve to be fully compensated for your losses.
The Brown Firm has a team of experienced lawyers who can help you get a fair settlement after becoming the victim of a drunk driving accident.
Contact our DUI lawyers to schedule a free consultation today.
Ready to Talk to a Lawyer Who Has Your Back?
Contact The Brown Firm
Get the Answers and Compensation You Deserve
You’ll notice the difference when you contact The Brown Firm! Our local dedicated attorneys want to help you recover and rebuild.
Schedule your free consultation by calling (800) 529-1441 or completing our simple online form.