Driving Without a License
What is Driving Without a License?
In every state, it is illegal to operate a vehicle without the proper licensing. It is considered a misdemeanor offense in the state of Georgia. Either not having a driver’s license or letting your current license expire can result in a charge of “driving without a license.” This charge can apply to either scenario.
Driving is a privilege that legally requires one to submit an application in order to obtain a license. As a result, holding a driver’s license requires adhering to all of the responsibilities and rules that are associated with operating a vehicle on public roads. Every state has laws and procedures in place to deal with the situation when it is discovered that a person is operating a vehicle without a valid license.
The consequences of operating a vehicle without a valid driver’s license can vary widely depending on both the location and the circumstances surrounding the offense.
Violations for Driving Without a License
A charge of driving without a license can be brought against a driver in a number of different ways, including:
- Expired License
- Never Having a Driver’s License
- Driving with a Suspended License
- Failing to Provide Proof of a Driver’s License
The Department of Motor Vehicles must be contacted by drivers before their license’s expiration date in order to facilitate the renewal process for driver’s licenses. They are also required to submit an application for a new license within the first thirty days after moving to Georgia from another state or establishing residency as a non-US citizen.
Farmers driving tractors and members of the military driving military vehicles are exempt from these license requirements. Non-Georgia residents driving with a valid license from their home state or country are also exempt from these requirements.
A criminal offense, such as driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, may result in the suspension or revocation of a driver’s license.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License in Georgia?
In the state of Georgia, it is a misdemeanor offense to drive without a valid license. This applies to any driver who moved to Georgia with a license from another state but did not submit an application for a Georgia driver’s license within the first month of their residency.
If you are caught driving without a valid license, you could face up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. These are the maximum penalties.
If the driver’s license has been previously revoked, suspended, or restricted, they risk spending anywhere from two days to a year in jail, paying a fine between $500 and $1,000, and having their license suspended for an additional six months. This applies to the first infraction; the penalties become more severe for subsequent infractions.
A high and aggravated misdemeanor is considered to have been committed if a person is found guilty of driving without a license for a second or third time within a period of five years. It becomes a felony after the fourth conviction within the previous five years.
What if I Forgot My License at Home?
When a person who is supposed to have a valid driver’s license gets behind the wheel without it, the consequences are typically not as severe as they would be otherwise, provided that the driver can provide evidence that they do, in fact, have a valid license.
The driver who cannot produce their license will typically be issued a warning or citation for not being able to show it, after which they will be given the opportunity to present their license in court. At the time that the driver was stopped, the driver’s license had to still be in good standing. Should this be the case, all that will be required of them is a maximum fine of ten dollars.
Hit-and-run accidents sometimes result from a driver who has a suspended, expired, or no license at all. If you are the victim of this or any other type of personal injury accident, contact The Brown Firm to schedule a free consultation today.
Ready to Talk to a Lawyer Who Has Your Back?
Contact The Brown Firm
Get the Answers and Compensation You Deserve
You’ll notice the difference when you contact The Brown Firm! Our local dedicated attorneys want to help you recover and rebuild.
Schedule your free consultation by calling (800) 529-1441 or completing our simple online form.