What is Disregarding Police?
Ignoring a verbal or visual signal from a police officer to stop or move a vehicle is the definition of disregarding the authority of the police. If you disobey the law, you could face a variety of fines in addition to time in jail.
It is a major offense not to stop while police are approaching. It is against the law for a driver to “willfully fail or refuse to bring his or her car to a stop” and attempt to elude or flee from a police officer or vehicle that is issuing a signal for the driver to halt.
It makes no difference whether the signal is verbal or visible, such as the officer flashing their lights. If a law enforcement officer gives the driver the signal to pull over, the driver is obligated to do so. Additionally, the officer needs to be easily identifiable by wearing their uniform with their badge of office and driving a vehicle that is specifically designated for police use.
What Are the Penalties for Disregarding Police?
When you disobey the law, you could face different fines and penalties depending on where you live. Running from or eluding law enforcement in the state of Georgia is a high and aggravated misdemeanor, which is the most serious category of misdemeanor crimes.
The following are the punishments that can be given to a person who is found guilty of running away from them or attempting to avoid them:
- A first-time conviction fine could be between $500-$5,000, with imprisonment between 10 days and 12 months.
- A second-time conviction that is within ten years from the date of the previous arrest could be between $1,000-$5,000, with imprisonment between 30 days to 12 months.
- A third-time conviction that is within ten years from the date of the previous arrests could be between $2,500-$5,000, with imprisonment between 90 days and 12 months.
When Does Eluding a Police Officer Become a Felony?
In Georgia, it is possible to be charged with a felony offense for the very first time for disobeying a law enforcement officer under specific circumstances.
If a driver meets any of the following criteria, they could face felony charges:
- Driving 20MPH above the speed limit
- Put the public at risk while fleeing
- Cause a collision with another driver
- Hit a pedestrian with a vehicle
- Leave the state while fleeing
In these scenarios, a felony would have the potential for a fine of up to $5,000 as well as a jail sentence ranging from one to five years.
Call a Georgia Personal Injury Lawyer
When a driver disobeys the orders of the authorities, they put themselves and others on the road in danger of getting hurt. The situation can swiftly escalate into a serious one, possibly becoming life-threatening. If you or a loved one was injured in an automobile accident in which the other motorist was evading or escaping law enforcement, it is time to discuss your case with a seasoned legal professional. These kinds of mishaps have the potential to be extremely harmful, painful, and costly.
After getting hit by a reckless driver, you may need the assistance of a lawyer who concentrates their practice on personal injury law in order to pursue the financial recompense that is rightfully yours. Our legal practice has been providing assistance of this kind to those who have been hurt in automobile accidents for many years.
Call today to schedule a free consultation if someone else is to blame for your accident.
Ready to Talk to a Lawyer Who Has Your Back?
Contact The Brown Firm
Get the Answers and Compensation You Deserve
You’ll notice the difference when you contact The Brown Firm! Our local dedicated attorneys want to help you recover and rebuild.
Schedule your free consultation by calling (800) 529-1441 or completing our simple online form.